elizabethkelly obi belt review

After months of stalking her shop, I finally purchased a black leather obi belt from elizabethkelly (http://www.etsy.com/shop/eliza....._shop_more) on Etsy.

I sent the seller Jo several messages on Etsy with questions regarding her belts and she answered them patiently and in great detail. I narrowed down on the black belt but wanted the ties shorter than normal and she agreed immediately, even giving me advice on a good length for someone my height. Needless to say, I was impressed with her shop even before I got the belt.

The belt was shipped in 3-4 days and Jo sent me the tracking number the moment the package was shipped. It reached me in a few days and with the belt, I found a lovely handwritten tag saying 'Handmade for Ki'. I don't know about you, but I am a sucker for personal touches like this!

The belt itself is made of a very soft leather. When I first tried it on I wondered if getting the ties shortened was a good idea since they seemed a little too short to me. However, after wearing it around the house a few times, I realised that this is a good length for me as it doesn't overwhelm my 5'4'' frame. I also love that Jo sells her obi belts in two different widths, 5'' and 3''. I chose the 3'' and it is the perfect width for me - any wider and it would be too much belt for my short waist.

I had a great experience buying from elizabethkelly and even though the belt wasn't cheap, I feel like it was well worth the expense. I hope this helps those of you who are thinking about ordering from her (like Shannon) or anyone who is on a lookout for a quality obi belt.

Here is a link to the belt I ordered - http://www.etsy.com/listing/81.....-wrap-belt. (see pic 1)

Pics 2 to 4 show me wearing the belt.

P.S. I am in no way affiliated with this shop, I just wanted to show off my latest purchase ;)

1
2
3
4
This post is also published in the youlookfab forum. You can read and reply to it in either place. All replies will appear in both places.

19 Comments

  • fern replied 6 years ago

    That looks really good, Kirti!
    And it sounds like great service.

  • Jem replied 6 years ago

    Thanks for the review! She sounds like a good seller to buy from! You've been getting some nice purchases lately!

  • Diana replied 6 years ago

    Thanks so much for the review. I have been eyeing some of her belts lately but I think even the 3" is too wide for me - I am more shortwaisted than you, I don't *have* three inches between my rib cage and hip bones, and I can't stand any belts that squish my rib cage. But she sounds like a very accomodating seller to work with, so maybe I could ask whether she could make me a 2" belt!

  • Kirti replied 6 years ago

    Thanks fern!

    No problem Jem, I always like discovering new places to shop from, so it is fun to share! And yes, July has been VERY shopping intensive for me! I really ought to cut back!

    Diana, one of the first things I asked Jo was if she would make me a thinner belt (2.5'') and she agree, that too at no extra charge. But then I discovered that I already had a black elastic belt at that width and decided to go with the 3''. She also made Rita a thinner belt than 3'' if I am not mistaken. I am sure she will custom make any width you want!

  • modgrl replied 6 years ago

    Sweet belt!! I love mine. Can't wait to see how you rock yours.
    She did make mine to my specifications. I am very petite so I wanted it just a tiny bit smaller scale than her normal size. I think it was 2 3/4" instead of 3".

  • Sveta replied 6 years ago

    Wow! Great belt and great service. I need to look into this Etsy shop as I would not mind to add an obi belt to my collection as well!

  • Kirti replied 6 years ago

    Thanks Rita! That is such good service!

    Sveta: You won't regret it, she makes lovely belts! :-)

  • lyn* replied 6 years ago

    This is why I love Etsy; I am glad you love your new obi! I have been thinking of a purple obi from her shop too!

  • Kirti replied 6 years ago

    Lyn: Ooh! Purple would be a fun colour for an obi belt! :D

  • Meredith1953 replied 6 years ago

    That is truly a lovely belt on you Kirti!

  • Transcona Shannon replied 6 years ago

    Fantastic review Kirti - thank you so much! I'm definitely going to look into ordering one. Can hardly wait to see all the outfits you pair yours with!

  • clearlyclaire replied 6 years ago

    Kirti, I loved browsing her lovely shop, thank you for the review. I'm sure you'll have that gorgeous belt for many years. I love how soft the leather looks, and how nice to have one custom made, just for you!

  • Linda replied 6 years ago

    The belt is just beautiful AND it looks great on you! You did the right thing with getting the ties shorter. It looks perfect. (I'm also 5'4" so I know what you mean.) I browsed her shop, and it's really nice!

  • goldenpig replied 6 years ago

    Great review! The belt looks awesome on you. I have a red one from her...unfortunately I haven't worn it much because I don't have as much to wear it with as I thought, and the ties are a little longer on me than I'd like. But it's definitely a high quality belt!

  • ramya replied 6 years ago

    Now that belt is gorgeous... You can use it in many many ways :).. Sigh but a little too expensive for me right now...... :(

    Ki, Don't you have a cloth one too... Do you have a tutorial or her contact for it????

  • Kirti replied 6 years ago

    Thznks Meredith!

    Glad I could help, Shannon!

    No problem Claire! And yep, the leather is super soft and it feels luxurious, like a true investment piece!

    Thanks Linda, I'm glad we think alike on the length of the ties!

    Thank you Natalie. Too bad about your belt, could you get the ties shortened

    Ramya: I got my cloth obi from here - http://www.meganmaedaily.com/p/obi-belts.html. My friend Megan makes them from silk ties. Hers is also an excellent shop, she has some fun belts, shipping is not too costly and very quick and I love the belt I have from her!

  • ManidipaM replied 6 years ago

    What a great belt, Kirti --- congratulations on another fab PPP find! And what a lovely crafter too :-)

  • Kirti replied 6 years ago

    Thanks Manidipa! :-)

  • Claudia replied 6 years ago

    Kirti, that's really nice. I just watched a new scarf tying video and at 1:58 there is one called "Vest with Obi Belt" that made me think of you with your new belt.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v....._embedded#!

You need to be logged in to comment